Arcanum – Levels 4 & 5

I have become totally immersed in my journey to better photography and digital art!.  Since joining The Arcanum a few short weeks ago, I have learned a lot and gained a very supportive group of colleagues.  Plus having access to a master photographer for personalized feedback and support.  It’s great!

My Level 4 involved preparing for and participating in a critique of my level 3 images.  It was a humbling and informative experience!  Getting constructive feedback was awesome.  Here are some key lessons I have learned so far:

  • Sharpen your images by adjusting settings to have a fast shutter speed.
  • Tell a story with your images… convey an emotion or story with your photo.
  • Remove distracting elements and don’t add anything that doesn’t enhance the photo.
  • Experiment and try everything!

I decided to take the plunge and start using PhotoShop Creative Cloud… and believe me when I say there is a learning curve!  I’m slower than usual, trying to learn the ins and outs as I go.  Hopefully, the awesome tools and controls in processing will be worth it.

Level 5 involved taking and editing 5 new images, describing why you took them, and getting feedback.  I was quite happy to receive several excellent suggestions.  My Level 5 images are shown below.

L5 Watercolor azalea

Spring Azaleas

IMG_7365

Fountain Fun

L5 Bicycle Textures

Spirit of America

IMG_2833

Golden Light

L5 Birdfeeder

Birdfeeder

3 thoughts on “Arcanum – Levels 4 & 5

  1. They are all fantastic, but 2 spoke to me. The shot of the kid at the water park just screams Awesome! Really loved the focus and the crispness of the center of attention. I don’t know what golden light actually is, but I am on my way to the store to buy as many caramel treats that I can find.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Lynn, for commenting! The golden light is actually a close up of the light over our kitchen table… I was surprised at the deep color that resulted! Now I want caramels!

      Like

Leave a Reply

