One Four Challenge – January Week 2 – UPDATED!!

UPDATE:  I really appreciated the comments and feedback on my “Twilight” version of Charleston Oaks.  I spent some time figuring out how I could add a “glow” to the lamp light to make it look a bit more realistic.  Here’s what I came up with, using a sunburst filter effect.  I ended up liking this version better.  I would welcome any further feedback on Version 2a.  Thanks!

Charleston Oaks - Twilight Glow

Charleston Oaks – Twilight Glow

The January One Four Challenge requires processing one image in four different ways over four weeks.

Comments and feedback are welcome!

Twilight:  For my week 2 edits, I wanted to achieve a twilight feeling, with the warm light of the lamp post shining softly.  I first converted the image to B&W, then added a vignette effect to darken the edges. A slight cropping was needed to center the lamp post.  I moved the vignette center to the lamp post light for added emphasis.  I then added a “star shine” effect to the lamp light and a slight yellow tint.  Editing was done in Aperture and Acorn.

Charleston Oaks - B&W no layers

Charleston Oaks – Twilight

Soft Spring:  “Charleston Oaks” was taken in early May, and my initial edits enhanced the soft green foliage.  I made minor tweaks to the saturation, white balance and hue to warm it up a little.  I removed two distracting figures in red shirts from the foreground.  I used Aperture for the editing.  The result is shown below:

Charleston Oaks - Soft Spring

Charleston Oaks – Soft Spring

Original Image:  For the January Challenge (processing one image in four different ways over four weeks), I chose a favorite photo, “Charleston Oaks”.  The original is shown below:

Charleston Oaks - Original Image

Charleston Oaks – Original Image

27 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – January Week 2 – UPDATED!!

  1. Great job removing the figures from Soft Spring. I like the BW version, especially the moved vignette … but like most have said, not sure about the yellow light… not a bad idea, just needs some tweaking. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Apologies for my late reply – Id been having problems leaving comments.
    Hope this works xx
    I love this twilight edition and think 2a is an improvement too for the lamp. The shadows on the path are wonderful.
    This is such an appealing image!! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

