One Four Challenge: December Week 2

Four One Challenge: This challenge is about processing one image four ways over four weeks.

In this week’s version of my image, I wanted to have a high contrast black and white scene, to highlight the architecture and background. I decided to include a pop of color with the yellow cabs.

Version 2 – Pop of Color:

Pop of Color

Pop of Color

Editing of Version 2 was done in Aperture.  Exposure was bumped up a little, Recovery was taken all the way to 1.5 (max setting), and Black Point was decreased slightly.  I applied the B&W filter at the mid contrast level (grade 2). I erased the B&W filter to show the yellow cabs. Finally, I applied the Intensify Contrast brush to the buildings on the right.  The image is uncropped.

Version I – Vibrant Scene:

NY Taxi - Vibrant

NY Taxi – Vibrant Scene

See more examples of the One Four Challenge at the “Captivate Me” site.

19 thoughts on “One Four Challenge: December Week 2

  1. Excellent! I love the pop of yellow contrasting with the monochrome. I use aperture, but couldn’t follow what you were saying about a black and white filter?

    Like

  2. Great job with the mono and excellent use of selective colour, the iconic yellow cabs were a good choice here, and I like they are a bit more yellow this time round ie less orange 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

